NAPLAN

NAPLAN testing was on during the week. All I knew was that it was a big test for all kids Year 3,5,7 and 9. So I did some research.

It turns out that NAPLAN stands for Nation Assessment Program- Numeracy and Literacy. It was started in 2008 and tests students for the skills that development across the curriculum and not necessarily within a school week. It is used by the Government and education fronts to measure where our students are at with their reading, writing, language conventions and numeracy skills. This is great. Is it? Who really knows. I speak to many children most days of the week in my job and personal life and sadly a few of them were feeling quite stressed about the test. One cool, calm little darling mentioned that it didn’t count for grades but it was exhausting doing all that testing! Another added the comment, “if you don’t know the answer just choose C every time, it’s multiple choice.” This makes me wonder: Would these tests really be a good indicator of the level our of kids? I know as a Year 9 I probably wouldn’t have put a whole lot of effort into a test not for marks!

What is great is that NAPLAN will be operated online in the coming years with 2014 and 2015 still on paper. Oh the joys of testing!

 

 

Leave a comment